Neurobiology Faculty Honored at SOM Spring Meeting

Monday, May 20, 2019

On May 8th, faculty and staff gathered at the Sarah P. Duke Gardens for the 2019 Spring Faculty Meeting where several Neurobiology Faculty were recognized.  

Congratulations to Cagla Eroglu who was presented with the Ruth and A. Morris Williams, Jr. Faculty Research Prize at the SOM Spring Meeting. The prize is given annually to an SOM faculty member who demonstrates the intellectual vigor, dedication, and scientific ingenuity needed to make a critical impact on the future of medical research.  The prize provides a personal award and laboratory stipend to a faculty member 45 years of age or younger to support innovative and high-risk projects. This year’s prize is in the category of clinical science.

Congratulations also to Anita Disney and Derek Southwell, who were recognized as Whitehead Scholars. The Whitehead Charitable Foundation recognized that the advancement of biomedical research requires a renewable resource of outstanding academic investigators and that leading academic medical centers need the ability to attract and nurture the most promising scientists as faculty members. With their gift, the foundation further recognized that Duke University was well positioned to provide the environment and resources necessary to develop the next generation of national leaders in emerging areas of biomedical research. The Whitehead Scholars are generally junior faculty recruited to Duke who have exceptional potential for research and research training in the biomedical sciences.

Read more about the meeting.