Sommer Lab

Marc Sommer, PhD, PI

Associate Professor, Duke Biomedical Engineering

Director of Undergraduate Studies, BME

Core Member of Center for Cognitive Neuroscience

Department: Biomedical Engineering

Location: 254 Hudson Hall Annex


Phone: 919-684-7015


Mailing Address:
Marc A Sommer
1427 CIEMAS, Box 90281
101 Science Drive
Durham, NC 27708-0281


We study neuronal circuits for cognition. Basic research in the lab involves recording and manipulating neurons during visual tasks to learn how brain areas interact during cognition. The results are used for improving neurostimulation for the treatment of psychiatric disorders and designing more naturalistic visuomotor guidance of robots.